top of page
Search

Hey gals! Welcome to the Steminist Club!

Updated: Oct 10, 2020

First thing's first let me introduce myself. I'm Gemma, a science communicator from the UK, a lover of all things science and sustainability and founder of The Steminist Club. I graduated with a BSc in Environmental Science and my enthusiasm for educating other on the critical topics that make up our very beings and the Earth we live on has driven me to complete a Masters in Science Communication.


The past few months have been challenging to say the least and having lost my job and virtually all purpose in life I decided to set up this positive community for girls studying, working and preaching science, technology, engineering and maths. I wanted to create a safe space for like-minded women, particularly those just starting out in the world, where we could learn, be inspired and empower one another.


The STEM subjects are traditionally lacking when it comes to gender balance and still today women are often significantly under-represented, particularly when it comes to senior roles and higher paid positions. My aim is to encourage younger generations to take up STEM subjects; for them to appreciate the diversity of roles available for individuals interested in STEM and for them to realise that getting those higher paid roles is well within their reach.


So come and join the club, get involved, share your stories and learn with us as we try and help you through the rocky road of adulthood, from graduating to retirement and everything in between!


Peace out for now!


Gem x




30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page